The relentless revolution – a history of capitalism

In a similar spirit, she captures how a new generation of now forgotten economic writers active long before Adam Smith built a case “that the elements in any economy were negotiable and fluid, the exact opposite of the stasis so long desired.” This was a revolution of the mind, not machines, and it ushered in profound changes in how people viewed everything from usury to joint stock companies. As she bluntly concludes, “there can be no capitalism . . . without a culture of capitalism.”

Ur NY Times recension. Låter helt i linje med McCloskey.

0 Responses to “The relentless revolution – a history of capitalism”



  1. Kommentera

Kommentera

Jag som bloggar här heter Niklas Elert. Till vardags jobbar jag på Ratio - Näringslivets forskningsinstitut. Jag är liberal i sociala och ekonomiska frågor.

Jag skriver för diverse tidningar på mer eller mindre regelbunden basis och har flera kreativa strängar på min lyra. Jag och min gode vän Jonas Sigedal har tillsammans skapat julkalendern Kommunen och skrivit det satiriska eposet Germania som gavs ut på Hydra Förlag 2008. Kommande projekt är en science fiction-roman med arbetsnamnet Rymdsalongen.


